Photoshop is amazing

psI have self taught myself to use Photoshop effectively to produce some really good designs, help drive business and help people with their personal requests. With all these different needs, I’ve accumulated some great knowledge of the product, but still I feel I’m only scratching the surface.

This begs the question, do you need to be an expert using it, or can you just use natural flare to get great results, with zero training? Without boasting, I feel the level of work I can produce in Photoshop is up there with some of the best designers, whether it be marketing documents, websites, photo manipulation, you name it I’ve had a go at it! I may not follow all best practices and I’ve had some issues in the past when using my files with professional print firms, but i solved this by finding a company that would happily use high res photoshop files for print. Many designers use Illustrator due to it’s functionality with vector images, i’ve never really mastered the product but hope to teach myself some more in the future.

On some of my computers i’m using the older CS3 version of Photoshop, and on others the very latest CS6. whilst the new version have some better features, i can’t help but feel that if you are good at using it, you’ll get good results no matter what the version. I think as long as you can master the concept of layers & groups, you will do well. Then the artistic flare and creative thinking will only make your work better.

The product is as I say, amazing. You can do so much with it and it’s range of results is really only limited to what you can imagine. I hope to post a few more articles on things that I have learnt over the years, including some basics that took me a while to discover or was shown by someone.

Leave a Reply

